Wednesday, February 2, 2011

New Teenage Driving Laws in Michigan

Starting March 30th, there will be a new law affecting teen drivers
Former Gov. Jennifer Granholm approved the new limitations in the fall in a nationwide effort to reduce dangerous teen driving.

The new restrictions include:
• Limited driving hours. What was once a curfew of 12 a.m. has now tightened to 10 p.m. Teen drivers are not allowed to drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m., unless headed to or from work.
 Limited underage passengers. With the new restrictions, teen drivers are limited to one passenger, age 20 or below, unless accompanied by an adult. However, an exception to this restriction is made when driving to school or school-held events.

The restrictions will affect all 16-year-olds and some 17-year-olds.

Studies show that drivers ages 16 to 19 are the most dangerous on the road, and the risk of crashes increases significantly if they have other teens in their vehicles.

According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, about 3,000 teens in the United States were killed and more than 350,000 were treated for injuries suffered in motor-vehicle crashes in 2009.

If your teenage child was involved in an accident, call the Thurswell Law Firm toll free at 1.866.354.5544 immediately. Even if your child may have caused the accident, you may be able to recover monetary compensation for injuries and losses.

If you or a loved one was injured in an accident that was caused by a teen driver, call us toll free at 1.866.354.5544 to talk with an experienced attorney today.

The Thurswell Law Firm is recognized by US News and World Report and Best Lawyers as Best Law Firms of 2010, Tier 1 - a survey ranking the best law firms in 171 metropolitan areas. Tier 1 is awarded to the highest ranking law firms.  

1 comment:

  1. Even though we are having the some of toughest restrictions on the teen drivers still we are unable to stop the no. of crashes involved by teens. it look like we should think something else like improving the minimum age of teen, no. of hours training etc.. may help.

    Texas Driver Safety Course Online